There is something about a hole-in-the-wall cozy little bar that always captures my heart!

If you feel the same way, then Portal Brewing Company should be at the top of your list of bars to check out. Located right in Downtown Medford, in a historic 1906 brick lined building that was once the city fire station ran by horse drawn carriage. This Intimate, brewpub is perfect for date night, or a fun gathering with friends.

Portal Brewing Co. has 14 Taps of standard ales as well as a good selection of seasonal ales; all brews are on rotating taps to keep things interesting. Did I mention the eclectic comfort food, sidewalk seating and the funky surfboard theme? Portals food and drink flare reflects the owner’s passion for surfing.

Owned and operated by the owners themselves Mike, his wife Theresa and her son. They are dedicated to local, high-quality ingredients and non-GMO grains are the foundation of their brews. I had the pleasure of discovering this cool spot, when I was bar hopping downtown. The next thing I knew I was sitting at the bar having a unique and delicious flight of beer, poured by the owner Mike himself, I couldn’t decide on a beer as I was new to this location.

Mike suggested that I tried a flight, to taste an array of their beers. I decided on one of their homemade Gyros filled with spiced lamb, beef, and fresh cabbage, topped with their Tzatziki sauce all wrapped up in a buttery toasted Pita. The beer, the food, the atmosphere & the friendly service, the whole experience hit the spot!

I will definitely be back, especially to check out their trivia night!

 


– Taylor
@taylorannhansen

Leave a Reply

